CFCF 2010 Conference Instructors: Laurie Mika

19 08 2009

MIka-bio picLaurie Mika is a mixed-media artist with a passion for combining and overlapping a variety of mediums creating an original style of mixed-media mosaics using handmade polymer clay tile. Laurie’s background in painting is evident in her mixed-media works influenced by medieval and Renaissance art. The gilded devotional panels of the past become secular icons imbued with personal narratives. Art and folk traditions referenced in her work derive from her travels and experiences of living abroad, (East Africa). The highly embellished surfaces, including segments of text, form sumptuous tapestries of traditional and modern materials. Like a modern-day alchemist tinkering with the ancient art of mosaics, Laurie finds magic in combining disparate elements.

 

Laurie’s work has been published in numerous magazines including: Expressions, Somerset Studio, Haute Handbags, Altered Couture, Somerset Gallery 5, Somerset Wedding and Somerset Home. Her work also appears in books: 400 Polymer Clay Designs, Mosaic Art and Style, New Techniques for Wearable Art, Beyond Paper Dolls, Taking Flight, Interactive Art Workshop and Mixed Mania. Her own book, Mixed Media Mosaics, published by North Light Books (F&W Publications) was released in 2007.

Mika's 3-D ATCs

Mika's 3-D ATCs

 

Layers, layers, layers. This workshop is all about exploring dimension in polymer clay and what better way to create an artist trading card then by adding beautiful layers of handmade polymer clay pieces. ATC’s are transformed into miniature works of art that have a Medival, jewel-like feel. A myriad of mixed media techniques will be covered including rubber stamping into clay, gold leafing, painting, collage and beading. We will push the clay to the max by embedding all sorts of things into it. The cross-over potential for these techniques is limitless. The best part is that you can make as many or as few ATC’s as time permits. Each one can be used to build upon skills and to explore new techniques. In the end you will have unique 3-D ATC’s unlike any you have ever had before! Warning: you may not be able to part with them!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 10 2009
christine O'doherty

Hi Laurie, I just want to say how inspiring your work is. I’m an art teacher who is not that far off from retiring. Though I have little or no time at present to do much of my own work and, I do tend to give all my ideas and techniques to my students, which is as it should be, I have of late been collecting all manner of art and craft materials in readiness for when I do finally retire. I have just purchased lots of rubber stamps and some polymer clay, and I cannot wait to try my hand at surface embellishment using these mediums and techniques that’s depicted so beautifully in your work. My students are in for a treat as I wont be able to wait, and I know once they see your stunning work they will be raring to go.
Many regards
christine

19 08 2010
Laura

Laurie,
Your works are very inspiring! As I have now got more time to spend crafting and experimenting with my different art mediums ATC’s have become of particular interest. Would you mind if I put your page on my FB and blog links? Thanks again for the ideasof 3D ATC’s…
Laura

Leave a Reply

